Since 1991, GroundSwell’s Artistic Directorate has been delighting and challenging its audiences with an eclectic combination of all that is good about new music. GroundSwell is dedicated to presenting contemporary music, featuring everything from inspiring interpretations of 20th-century classics to exciting fusions of visual art, theatre, dance, and the written word.


The Artistic Directorate is made up of Winnipeg composers Gordon FitzellJim Hiscott, and Michael Matthews, with guests curators rotating yearly. Every season GroundSwell brings you exciting new worlds of contemporary performance, from local music to international works, and is proud to promote and explore the best of Canada’s diverse and vibrant new music scene.


Land Acknowledgement

GroundSwell is proud to exist on Treaty 1 Territory, the traditional lands of the Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, and Dene Peoples, and on the homeland of the Metis Nation. We respect the Treaties that were made on these territories and acknowledge the harms and mistakes of the past. We are committed to honouring the land on which we create and share music and dedicate ourselves to move forward in partnership with Indigenous communities in a spirit of reconciliation and collaboration.

Gender Parity

Arts organizations all over the world are acknowledging that programming must fairly represent gender diversity.  GroundSwell has joined this growing movement by pledging to achieve and maintain gender parity in its programming and commissioning.  We invite our audiences and the Canadian composition community to hold us accountable and encourage us to reach this goal.

Visit the Canadian League of Composers for more information.
Sign up for our Newsletter!



David R. Scott | Executive Director & Artistic Coordinator
call: (204) 943-5770

Heather Lewis | Marketing & Communications Manager
call: (204) 293-7990


Victoria Sparks | President
Örjan Sandred | Vice President
Karen Sunabacka | Past President
Gordon Fitzell
Jim Hiscott
Michael Matthews
Harry Stafylakis
Guy Michaud
Derek Brueckner
Luis Ramirez
David Litke
Taylor Goodson
Jesse Kraus
Amir Hossein Nouroozi


Support the future of Canadian and international new music by becoming a Sponsor or Partner of GroundSwell. We’re also always looking for enthusiastic people for our Board of Directors. To learn more, please contact Executive Director, David R. Scott at or call (204) 943-5770.

GroundSwell gratefully acknowledges its funders, sponsors, and partners: